SPPA History

The Candidate Guidance Office at the U.S. Naval Academy recognized many years ago that the right kind of parental guidance could greatly help to ensure the success of a Midshipman. They felt that the development of this guidance could be best accomplished by uniting parents of Midshipmen to form local Parents’ Club. The main purpose of a Parents’ Club would be for informational guidance and support with a lesser emphasis on social activities. This concept was approved by the Naval Academy, the Alumni Association and the Midshipmen themselves.

In April of 1973, under the guidance of Tom Teshara, West Coast Regional Director of the Blue and Gold Program at the Naval Academy, the first Parents’ Club was formed in the San Francisco Bay Area. Since then, the concept of Parents’ Clubs has spread across the country. There are now eighty clubs, some of which are joint service academy clubs, across the continental US, Hawaii and Puerto Rico. At the request of the Superintendent, Parents’ Clubs are administered by the Naval Academy Alumni Association.

The Southeastern Pennsylvania Parents’ Association (SPPA) is an official Parent’s Club associated with the USNA and has been established within the framework, guidelines, and policies developed by the USNA Alumni Association.

The concept for a parents group in the Southeastern Pennsylvania area was initially formulated in mid-December of 1989, as a result of the urging of the Midshipmen sons of Ms. Helen Callas-Reiner (’91/’92) of Willow Grove, PA, and Ms. Barbara Kolbe (‘92) of Perkasie, PA.

The Southeastern Pennsylvania Parents’ Association was officially recognized on February 26 1990.


SPPA Leadership
2018-2019 Alex Korol – President
2017-2018 Chris Hoffman – President
2016-2017 Pat Field – Co-President
Chris Hoffman – Co-President
2015-2016 Pat Field – President
2014-2015 Andrew Assenmacher – Co-President
Pat Field – Co-President
2013-2014 Jay Riloff – President
2012-2013 Cyndi Love – Co-President
Kate McKenna – Co-President
2011-2012 Rowland Smith – Co-President
Elaine Smith – Co-President
2010-2011 Rob Roy – Co-President
Pamela Roy – Co-President
2009-2010 Bruno Ventresca – Co-President
Jennifer Ventreca – Co-President
2008-2009 Dave Camiolo– Co-President
Debbie Camiolo – Co-President
2007-2008 Marie Schroth – Co-President
Tori Jones – Co-President
2006-2007 Vira Homick – Co-President
Marie Schroth – Co-President
2005-2006 Jim Carlson – President
2004-2005 Cheryl Kerrick – President
2003-2004 Carole Capps – President
2002-2003 Carole Capps – President
2001-2002 Bruce Vermeychuk – President
2000-2001 Deborah Feigel – President
1999-2000 Dindy Liebert – President
1998-1999 Susan Twiggs – President
1997-1998 Jo-Ann Skubin – President
1996-1997 Robert Miller – Co-President
Florence Miller – Co-President
1995-1996 Peggy Thomas – President
1994-1995 Richard Coe – President
1993-1994 Joseph Bartish – President
1992-1993 Joseph Bartish – President
1991-1992 Barbara Kolbe Chairperson
1990-1991 Helen Callas Reiner Co-Chairperson
Barbara Kolbe Co-Chairperson